Completely Redesign the Microsoft Excel/Access interface forAutomated Reporting

• Greetings.

I am a VBA novice, providing data analysis and reporting automation to a few clients. I also have an elementary understanding in VBA in Access. I stumbled upon the picture below and it tickled my curiosity.

http://www.vosesoftware.com/vo…sviewer/screenshots/1.png

This is a screenshot from a report generated by a software called ModelRisk. I do not wish to learn how the specific analyses were performed or interpreting the chart, but I'd like to know how the interface was designed. I believe it is designed in Access 2007, and since I know the charting features in Access 2007 are terrible, I also wish to understand how to design similar charts. I also have a fair knowledge of ribbon customization in XML. My questions are:

1.How does one place a picture/icon on the ribbon circle ?
    2.How does one design similar form tabs on the interface, with custom icons i.e labelled CummulA,Scatter,Trend,Spider e.t.c in the picture?
    3.How does one automate creation of such charts ?

Would I require to learn a programming language, or are there utilities for such designs ? I also understand one can use C++ in Excel, what added unique capabilities would C++ provide in Excel that are not in VBA ?

I wish to design standalone reporting and data analysis applications with a rather similar interface. I may also want to, for instance, for data in an excel worksheet, import it into the application, run complex queries, design excel pivot tables and charts then place the reports in a similar tabbed interface on separate forms, in a few seconds.

Actuarish.

• Re: Completely Redesign the Microsoft Excel/Access interface forAutomated Reporting

That doesn't look like Excel or Access to me, I would say that it's a windows application that possibly provides add-ins to Excel and Access. The biggest giveaway that this is the case is this from the faq:

Do I need to have Excel installed?