Two workbooks - Find matching cell value on another workbook, then copy paste cell info into same row of other workbook in specified collum

• I am pretty new to VBA, but I am in the process of building multiple micro systems around an excel spreadsheet that is populated with Data.

In the current micro system I am building I would like to type in a number in say cell F7 and type in cell I7 any text of my choosing.

When I press a button I want the macro to copy cell I7 open another workbook with stored data, search for the value from cell F7 of other workbook in Collum A and paste the text from cell I7 into the same row of found cell, in to cell at collum Q.

I hope I have explained myself ok, and look forward to any responses.

• Hello and Welcome to the Forum :)

Your question has been dealt with quite often in the Forum ...

An important question, though, is to determine if you are working with opened or closed workbooks ...;)

If you feel like saying "Thank You" for the help received, do not hesitate to click the "Thumbs Up" icon, below, in the bottom right corner:)

• I would use a UserForm combined with .Find.

Is the Workbook to search open or does it need opening?

Hi Roy, it’s closed. But will be required to be opened then closed once the search has been completed and the cell populated on the same row of found cell in Collin Q after discovered search.

• Hello and Welcome to the Forum :)

Your question has been dealt with quite often in the Forum ...

An important question, though, is to determine if you are working with opened or closed workbooks ...;)

Thanks,

the workbook containing the data to be searched will be closed, but the tool I wish to build to search for that data and copy info over from a set cell will be open when needed.

• This is a quick example of what I am suggesting. I've adapted one of my userforms, if you think it will work for you I can add another TextBox to enter the text to co and code to copy it to the sheet