Posts by mycomputerguy-w

Re: Plain input box with no buttons and a message box at the end.

Lets see if i can explain this a little better. Im attempting to build a checkin access system that will allow members to swipe their membership cards and gain access to an exercise program. this system is not going to "allow" or "deny" access to anything. All it will do is log them into the class. After swiping their card, it will take the comma delimited information that was previously encoded onto the card and accept it into the input box. At this point im not sure how i should "collect" the information but i was thinking an input box would work. Im guessing I need a way to read the input from a magstripe reader and maybe export it to a text file then import it right back into the workbook? Im not sure if there is a way for it to be read directly into the active sheet? any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Im very new to VBA, Macros and such but im attempting to learn. Here is my quest: I need to import comma delimited text files into my workbook. The files will always have a different name so rather than recording a specific marco for each text file, I'd like to be able to run a macro that will allow the user to choose the file, then input the information on the next available row. Ive included the recorded macro that i did where it gets a specific file to show settings i need. If a completly different solution is neccessary that is ok too. Thanks for your help in advance.

Im still in need of a little assistance if someone has the time. i figured out how to write most of the macro but now im in a little over my head. The code below works to import a specific file. What i need to do is pause the macro to allow the user to choose the file to be imported, then have the information imported to the next available row instead of over writing row a1. any help would be great.