Posts by mycomputerguy-w

Re: Error handling for ListBox1.ColumnCount = UBound(vData, 2)

Well..... you got closer than I did but there are still a couple things, first, the list box needs to be multiple columns. In the testbook case, 5 columns. Then I need to check the text in the combobox against ALL the text that is and will be in the dynamic range. If what is typed its not in the range, open pop up to ask if the user wants to add the data, with a command button or the vbYesNo, open another userform to add the data to the appropriate columns. I think can figure out the pop up box and the userform to add part but I'm not very good at the VBA for the rest, so I'm struggling a bit to figure that part out.

Re: Error handling for ListBox1.ColumnCount = UBound(vData, 2)

If you download the testbook, and run the userform, you'll see that it has a combobox that is populated by the dynamic range od $A$A. if you select anything within the combobox, it will list the appropriate data in the rows of the list box on the same userform. In any case.... if you select an entry in the combobox, it works great. The problem is this, if you try to type in a number that IS NOT in the list within the combobox, that's when it throws the error. for example: if you type in "234" you'll get 2 lines of data in the listbox, if you type in "345" you should get 3 lines of data in the listbox, if you even begin to type something like "805" you wont even get to the 5 before it throws the error. just by typing the "8" throws the error.

That's what I'm trying to fix. Id rather it pop a message box asking to add the data then to error out. the actual error is on the line....."ListBox1.ColumnCount = UBound(vData, 2)"

Hope this explains it a little better.

I've included another copy of the file in case the first one didn't work right.