Posts by gstettner

I have a program that can export a table into Excel. I want to use that table as a database in Access on which I can run queries that are beyond Excel's capabilities. The table will look much like a database with column headings that will serve as fields. What is the best way to get the Excel data into Access. In perusing other posts, I have seen mention of "creating a linked table to a named range in your spreadsheet". Is that the only way to make it happen?

I'm presently using Excel to screen a database for certain characteristics. Imagine a database of people for whom we have the following data: height, weight, hair color, eye color, and sex. Can I use Access (which I have little experience with) to search for people having two or more of four qualifying characteristics? These are my qualifying characteristics: male, over 5'9" tall, less than 170 lbs., blond hair. I don't want just those who possess all these characteristics, but all who possess at least two of the characteristics. In other words, a 5'6" tall male who weighs 160 lbs. (passes two criteria) would pop up, as would a 5'9" blond female, weighing 140 lbs. (passes three criteria), as would a 6' male who weighs 160 lbs. with blond hair (passes four criteria).

Will that work in Access?

I need to analyze data that is exported to Excel from another system at different times. That is, I always want to perform the same analysis on different values. Then, I want to take the analysis and sort it or otherwise manipulate it without affecting the data I've exported/imported. Presently, I copy and paste the data in to a given tab/sheet (call it ID for import data). A second tab/sheet (call it CALC) has functions in that look at corresponding data on sheet ID. I fear that my approach is inelegant at best inefficient at worst.