Posts by homegrownandy

I'm not very good at VBA. Through examples online I have put together this.

I'm getting type mismatch on this line:

Code
    ActiveDocument.TablesOfContents.Add rangeWord, _

any ideas why?

This thread is a continuation of the one here: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=67404

Re: Move file based on file name.

Hello. I have done some testing. I've moved a test file to my desktop and set up a similar folder structure.

Now. this is the line with a problem:

Code
    objFSO.MoveFile (strMyFolder & "\" & objMyFile.Name), strMyFolder & "\" & Left(objMyFile.Name, WorksheetFunc

IF there is no folder in there which shares the name with the document it does tell me the folder doesn't exist. However if the folder exists and is empty (or contains something) then it says file already exists.

I am no expert on VBA (obviously haha) and although I can understand most VBA I am clueless here.

Andy.

Edit: I've only pasted in part of this line here for some reason. Just wanted to make it clear the whole line exists as it does in the code provided.

Re: Move file based on file name.

Hi Robert. Thanks for your time. I am getting runtime error 58. file already exists. I have attempted this using an empty folder called test. I'm jut trying to work out why, but I can only guess at the moment.

I'm sure I have all the parts to this code in one form or another. I just cant get anything together that will work.

I want to move all PDF files in a folder based on its name. Specifically it will be the text before "-". These files are generated invoices. They need to be emailed and printed (this is done via vba). but at the end of that process I want them all moved to the correct locaton.

EG.

123561143-99999-99999.pdf <-- would need to go into the 123561143 folder
    test-999-9999.pdf. < --- goes into the test folder.