Posts by daniel.c

Re: Export Email Text Into Worksheet

Give a try at the below macro. I begin parsing messages counting from row 2 on "Sheet1" sheet, letting place for headings on row 1. Also, if there are two consecutive commas, there will be an empty cell in the corresponding column.

Re: Copy And Paste A String Of Numbers/text Automatically In word

Well, OK, I'm quite new with Word programmation. Strangely, the tab marks are considered as numerals. I modified the macro in accordance. I have not tested other special characters, so you may have other misbehaviours. Here is the macro "ExtractEveryWhere". If you need the same modification in an other macro, please, tell me.

Just wondering if I did use the previous code - is there a way to make it compatible for lower MS Office version?

I don't think it's possible.
    I am quite sorry not to have tested the code I gave you. If you use the second method (that of the "test" macro), you need to replace :

Code
    Set DocSource = Documents.Open(myFile)

with

Code
    Set DocSource = ActiveDocument

I did a search on the internet and can't find such a case. I tested it with Word 2007, so I can't see any difference. Look at Tools / References in VBE window.
    I have the following references checked :
    - Visual Basic for Applications
    - Microsoft Word 12.0 Object Library
    - OLE Automation
    - Normal
    - Microsoft Word 12.0 Object Library
    Do you have the same (Normal may refer to the macros of the "Normal" template) ?

Please, try the following macro :

Code
    Sub test()
        With Application.Dialogs(wdDialogFileOpen)
            .Name = "*.doc*"
            .Show
        End With
        myFile = ActiveDocument.Name
    End Sub

I you have no error, replace in the macros :

Code
    With Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogOpen)
            .Show
            .Filters.Add "Word docs", "*.doc*"
            myFile = .SelectedItems(1)
        End With
        Set DocSource = Documents.Open(myFile)