Posts by friendly_fire

Re: Creating Chart And Pasting Into Word

I'm a little confused on the above code. Would it be easier to do this: forget about arrays, search for my values in my (software-generated) excel in sheet1, fill one row after another in sheet 2 of all the values I find, then make a chart from sheet 2 (since now i know the specific range) ? Sorry I'm not very good with this...

I am using a software that generates excels for tests that I run. And there are 300 data lines for each file (spaced 3 lines apart). I would simplify it if I could but this is the main problem. I would be surprised if there is no way to chart this data..
    Thanks again Andy.

That's what I would like to do, is by using the cells. Adding from the cells directly to the xvalues and yvalues of the chart but I'm not sure how to.
    I know how to do it by specifying a range but since my data isn't one line after another, they are spaced 3 lines apart, that is giving me the trouble.

Hi Andy,
    Yes it works.. but up to 64 points only, 1 to 64. Anything 65+ gives run-time error '1004'
    application-defined or object-defined error.
    Do you know of a way to add to x and yvalues like a queue, while I loop through my spreadsheet? Instead of creating an array, this was what I tried to do originally, but was having difficulty with...

Yes, all elements in x and y are populated. vntArrayX and vntArrayY arrays contain the values that I want. For this graph it will be 124 elements in x and y for the series. I must make another function that creates another graph for 299 elements in the series. Is there a limit ?

If asking the chart to store whatever is in my arrays won't work, could I add my values directly to the xvalues/yvalues in my loop?

Like:
    xvalues.add(blah blah)
    yvalues.add(blah blah)

Thanks!

Thank you for your response Andy. I wasn't able to get back to this assignment til now. I used your example and now I have