Posts by cochese

This is a rather basic question. I've been developing tools using VBA for awhile (self taught), and thought it was time I learned if using .value was ever required when passing.

For example: range("b2") = range("a1").value or strVariable = rng.value

Sometimes I see sample code with .value referenced. From my experience it has always been okay to leave it off because Excel/VBA knows to use it.

Re: Test whether entire selection intersects with range

I do follow it. Thank you. I didn't give enough thought into how intersect worked.

Quote from cytop;683907

See if you can follow the logic used below...

If you have a range of A1:A10 and test if the user selection of A10:A11 intersects it, you will get a positive result. I need to know if the entire selection (both cells A10 and A11) intersects with the range. That is, even if one cell of the selection is outside of the range I do not want a positive intersection result.

Thank you.

Re: Adding time and then subtracting exact time results in negative number

That dim was accidentally pasted; it isn't' needed. Your solution works, but I have to see if it is something I can incorporate (my example was a very simplified version of my project). Thank you.

Quote from jindon;681654

I simplified my complex project with just a few lines of code, and my problem persists. The gist is that there are activities, each activity has an amount of time it takes to complete, and each activity is assigned to someone. The amount of time each person has needs to be tracked. If several activities are assigned to a person they will have X hours of activity, and if those exact same activities are subtracted from them they should have 0 hours of activity. This does not happen; they end up with negative hours.