Posts by FreddyKrueger

Hi guys

This one sound easy but I don't know how.

I have cells in excel than contain multiple info split by spaces.
    For example: Name Surname Number.
    All I want to do is split these cell into 3 different cells. All the cells doesn't contain exaxtly 3 items. It can be more or less. There should be an simple command that split up strings

Freddy

Re: Update 150 different table values at once

Hi norie

Using VBA sound like a good idea, although I have no experience on macros in access. The SQL code for one update query is as follow:

SQL
    UPDATE MAINTABLE INNER JOIN TABLE1 ON MAINTABLE.ID = TABLE1.MAINTABLE SET MAINTABLE.[Table name] = "TABLE1";

And the Table names are not table1 to table150. They have all got individual names.

f

Re: Update 150 different table values at once

Norie

What I can do is the following:

I link the "Master Table" to "Table 1" (smaller table) using the ID field.

No I run a simple update qeury:

Field: Table name (this is the new field I have created in the Master Table and that I want to update)
    Table: Master Table
    Update to: "Table 1"

This query writes "Table 1" next to all the cases (that belong to Table 1) in the Master Table.

I can repeat this process 150 times but it is gonna take me bout 6 hours.

Does this make sense??

Thanks

F

Hi all

I have a master table that contains 15000 cases. Lets call it the "Master Table" This master table was split into about 150 smaller tables. ("Table1" to "Table150"). I have a unique field called ("ID")

What I want to do is:

I have created an addition field in my "Master Table" called "Table Name". Now I want to use an update query (or any other means possible) to update this field with the smaller table name (Table1 / Table2 / ....../ Table150) into which the specific case was divided. Is this at all possible?

I can do it table by table but this will take too long.

I'm don't use access a lot so this might sound dumb.
    Please help

Regards,